Friday, September 14, 2007

Novels that Won the Hugo Award

The Hugo Awards are given annually by the World Science Fiction Society to the best science fiction or fantasy works of the previous year in several categories, including novel and short story. The awards are named in honor of Hugo Gernsback, the founder of Amazing Stories magazine and the “father of modern science fiction.” Hugo Awards were first presented in 1953 and have been presented every year, with slight variation, since 1955. Awards for 1946, 1951, and 1954 were presented retroactively in 1996, 2001, and 2004, respectively. A Hugo Award is the most highly-coveted prize in science fiction writing.

Four Mars-related novels have won the Hugo Award:

Double Star, by Robert A. Heinlein (1956)

Stranger in a Strange Land, by Robert A. Heinlein (1961)

Green Mars, by Kim Stanley Robinson (1993)

Blue Mars, by Kim Stanley Robinson (1996)

No comments: